Qualification Tournament Revealed Identity Of 8 Teams Which Will Compete in "A" Division

Qualification Tournament Revealed Identity Of 8 Teams Which Will Compete in

The winners of the U18 qualification tournaments have been revealed. 25 teams competed in the championship to determine the eight clubs that will compete in the A division this season. According to a special system, teams from the regions will be joined by 8 teams from Tbilisi, for a total of 14 clubs to compete in the upcoming championship.

After the group stage, best 16 teams continued their fight for qualification, in playoff. Teams faced each other in 2 games rounds. Each of the pair had obvious leader which have won both games of the series. Only fight between Hyunday 2 and Brooklyn became quite tensed. Hyundai won the first game nu 12 points 72:80, however lost second match by 13 points – 59:72 and eventually could lost chance to advance to A division. It should be noted that another team of Hynday lost their game against Tbilisi Basket.

Here are those 8 teams which after qualification tournament will play in “A” division: Overtime 1, Maccabi, Orbi, Dinamo, Wings 1, Zaza 1, Tbilisi Basket 1, Brooklyn.

We remind you that starting from this season all under age championships (Except U20) will be held according to new system managed by one main organizer – Georgian Basketball Federation.
U14, U16 and U18 championship will be divided into 3, A, B and C divisions. A division will be the highest league where 14 best teams play against each other. Each club and basketball school has right to compete with only 1 team in under age “A” divisions. In the first season of new system, according to quotation 6 teams from regions will automatically participate in A league and as it was mentioned above other 8 were revealed after qualification tournament.
Teams that did not earn the right to compete in the A league will be automatically qualified for the B division. If there is a high demand for B division tickets, they will be drawn in another qualification tournament, and teams that do not qualify will continue their journey in C division.
Starting with the next season, no A division qualification tournaments will be held, and teams from the B division will have the opportunity to advance to the high league based on their results.